Browse by city
Date range
Search help

Search titles, summaries, topics and stored transcripts together. Keywords may match separately; put the whole query in double quotes for a phrase. Matching follows word analysis, so punctuation is not exact. Both dates are included. Documents are not searched.

SHOWING 31–40 ENTRIES
31
SEP 16, 2026 · ST PAUL, MINNESOTA · BUDGET COMMITTEE
Saint Paul City Council Meeting - September 16, 2026

The Saint Paul City Council met on September 16, 2026 at 3:30 PM in the Council Chambers. All seven council members were present. The meeting covered consent agenda items, a discussion of a federal Safe Streets for All grant, a budget presentation from the St. Paul Port Authority, public hearings on a salt storage ordinance and multiple Xcel Energy franchise fee ordinances, and numerous other resolutions and assessments. The meeting adjourned at 4:29 PM. Consent Agenda - Items 2 through 15 (except Item 6, which was pulled for separate discussion) were approved by unanimous vote (7-0). Key actions included: approving a labor agreement with the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (RES 26-1364), authorizing various agreements for police, fire, and safety inspections (RES 26-1377, RES 26-1546, RES 26-1548, RES 26-1555), approving a tobacco shop license change of ownership (RES 26-1542), directing adverse action against a tobacco license with a $500 penalty (RES 26-1566), accepting a travel scholarship from the Knight Foundation (RES 26-1568), approving meeting minutes (Min 26-1), and approving reimbursement for the Ward 6 Budget Event (RES 26-1582). All were adopted. Public Comments & Testimony - Murph Dawkins (Ward 7, representing RONITOS) testified in favor of the four Xcel Energy franchise fee ordinances (Ord 26-40, 26-41, 26-43, 26-44). He stated that the new fees are more equitable because they return 50% of the franchise fee to low-income residents on the LIHEAP program, and also shift a greater share of the fee burden from residential to commercial customers. - John Purdy (West Side resident) testified on Ord 26-40 and Ord 26-43 (gas franchise fee). He argued that the discount for low-income residents would not benefit renters in legacy apartment buildings (318 identified buildings) where tenants do not pay gas bills directly because the building has a single gas meter (and Xcel classifies those accounts as commercial). He claimed this creates a 5% gap between low-income homeowners and low-income renters. He submitted a list of properties. Discussion Items - Item 6 – Safe Streets for All Grant (RES 26-1460): The council pulled this from consent. David Peterson (Transportation Planner, Public Works) presented the grant agreement with the Federal Highway Administration. The grant totals approximately $18.1 million ($14 million federal + $4 million state match). Funds will be used for low-cost safety improvements (high-visibility crosswalks, curb extensions, traffic circles, median refuges, beacons, reflective signal back plates) along about 40 miles of the city's high-injury network. The project has a five-year timeline: preliminary design (2027), final design (2028), construction (2029-2030), and closeout (2031). The council asked about specific intersection lists and public engagement; staff noted those will be developed during year one. The resolution was adopted unanimously (7-0). - Item 16 – St. Paul Port Authority 2027 Budget Presentation (SR 26-185): CFO Mike Solomon presented. He highlighted the Port's role as an economic engine, its barge terminal infrastructure projects (e.g., $18M dockwall rehab at Barge Terminal 2, $8M phase one and $10M phase two at Barge Terminal 1, and a $38M federal grant application for grade separation at South Port Terminal). The Port's 2026 operating budget is 35% supported by property tax levy. For 2027, the mayor proposed a $75,000 increase in the operating levy to cover inflationary costs, but the Port still projects a $125,000 gap which it will address internally. The Port's mandatory levy is capped at 0.01813% of the city's market value; the proposed levy would use less than 50% of that capacity. The Port also plans to decertify three TIF districts early (Great Northern North and South, Energy Lane) returning about $66 million in tax base. The presentation was received and filed. Key Outcomes - Salt Storage Ordinance (Ord 26-39): Public hearing was held; no testimony. The hearing was continued to September 23, 2026 for final adoption. Unanimous (7-0). - Xcel Energy Franchise Fee Ordinances (Ord 26-40, 26-41, 26-43, 26-44): Public hearings were held and closed. All four ordinances were laid over to September 23, 2026 for final adoption. Unanimous (7-0). - Fire Department Resolutions: - RES PH 26-123: Accepted $1,250,000 federal earmark for Burn Building Restoration. Adopted. - RES PH 26-255: Accepted $5,467 from scrap metal recycling. Adopted. - RES PH 26-256: Accepted $30,000 state grant for apprenticeship program. Adopted. - Assessment Ratifications: - RES PH 26-176: Ratified assessment for sanitary sewer line repair. Adopted. - RES PH 26-180/181: Approved Seventh Place Mall O&M assessments for 2025 and 2026. Adopted. - RES PH 26-192: Approved Grand/Snelling parking lot O&M assessment for 2027. Adopted. - Sound Level Variances: Approved for University of St. Thomas football games (RES PH 26-248), Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon (RES PH 26-251), Get Your Rear in Gear Twin Cities (RES PH 26-252), and Xcel Energy infrastructure project at Eagle Parkway (RES PH 26-253). All adopted unanimously (7-0). - Legislative Hearing Consent Agenda (Items 33–69): Approved as amended with unanimous vote (7-0). Notable amendments: - Item 40 (Appeal of Richard Schoolmeesters at 1111 Fourth Street East): Granted compliance extension to October 16, 2026. - Item 62 (RLH AR 26-54): Referred to October 6, 2026 Legislative Hearing. - Item 64 (RLH AR 26-56): Deleted 1166 Colette Place for separate consideration, referred to September 22, 2026 Legislative Hearing. - Item 65 (RLH AR 26-57): Deleted 1101 Hoyt Avenue West and 1431 Arundel Street for separate consideration, referred back to September 22, 2026 Legislative Hearing.

PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT 18% · ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 15% · BUDGET 14% · TRANSPORTATION SAFETY 11%
32
SEP 15, 2026 · ST PAUL, MINNESOTA · TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE
Transportation Committee of the Planning Commission Meeting - September 15, 2026

This meeting of the Transportation Committee of the Planning Commission took place on September 15, 2026, from 4:30 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. at Room 42, City Hall Conference Center. Note: The agenda lists the meeting date as September 21, 2026; however, the provided date for this summary is September 15, 2026. No minutes or transcript are available, so the summary is based solely on the agenda. Discussion Items - Minnehaha Avenue Reconstruction (Payne Ave – E 7th St.) – Cheng Xiong of Saint Paul Public Works presented an update on the Minnehaha Avenue reconstruction project between Payne Avenue and East 7th Street. No additional details, public comments, or committee discussion are recorded. Key Outcomes - No decisions, votes, or formal actions are documented from this meeting. The next scheduled meetings are October 5 and October 19, 2026.

33
SEP 11, 2026 · ST PAUL, MINNESOTA · PLANNING COMMISSION
Saint Paul Planning Commission Meeting - September 11, 2026

This summary is based solely on the official agenda, because no transcript or minutes were provided for this meeting: the raw transcript is empty and the minutes were marked unavailable. The agenda identifies the meeting date as September 25, 2026, from 8:30 to 11:00 a.m. in Council Chambers, Room 300, 3rd Floor, City Hall, 15 Kellogg Boulevard West, Saint Paul. That date conflicts with the meeting date of September 11, 2026 (14:30 UTC) supplied for this summary; notably, September 11, 2026, also appears in the agenda as the date of the prior meeting's minutes, which were scheduled for approval. The discrepancy is flagged rather than silently resolved. Per the agenda, the meeting was to include roll call, approval of prior minutes, three public hearing items, old business on the Rondo Neighborhood Plan, a site plan review update, and announcements. Call to Order, Roll Call & Approval of Minutes - The agenda listed a call to order, roll call, and approval of the September 11, 2026, Planning Commission meeting minutes as the first actions. No vote outcomes are available. Public Comments & Testimony - The agenda invited public testimony on agenda items either in person at the hearing or by email to ZoningCases@ci.stpaul.mn.us by 4:00 p.m. on the day before the hearing. No actual public comments are recorded in the available materials, and no speaker positions can be attributed. Public Hearings - 1201 Rice Rezoning: Consideration of a rezone from T2 Traditional Neighborhood to B3 General Business at 1201 Rice Street (District Council 6, Ward 5; staff: Chris Hong, 651-266-6572). - 1201 Rice CUP: Consideration of a conditional use permit for outdoor auto sales and rental at 1201 Rice Street (District Council 6, Ward 5; staff: Chris Hong, 651-266-6572). - 2516 Wabash Nonconforming Use & Variance: Consideration of a request to relocate a nonconforming use to change the angle of an existing billboard, plus a variance to move a sign that is adding illumination without bringing it into full conformance with all code requirements, at 2516 Wabash Avenue (T4, District Council 12, Ward 4; staff: Chris Hong, 651-266-6572). Old Business - Rondo Neighborhood Plan: The Planning Commission was scheduled to recommend action to the City Council following the public hearing (staff: Tony Johnson, 651-266-6620). Site Plan Review - The agenda included a list of current site plan review applications and noted that upcoming applications may be received for public hearing and decision by the Planning Commission (staff: David Eide, 651-266-9088). Announcements - Remarks by the Planning Commission Chair and the Planning Director were listed as agenda items. No details are available. Key Outcomes - No votes, decisions, or formal recommendations are recorded in the available materials because the raw transcript is empty and minutes were not provided. The commission's actions on the three public hearing items, the Rondo Neighborhood Plan recommendation, and the site plan review list could not be confirmed.

34
SEP 9, 2026 · ST PAUL, MINNESOTA · BUDGET COMMITTEE
Saint Paul HRA Meeting - September 9, 2026: Downtown Vitality Fund, Hamm Bonds

The Housing & Redevelopment Authority (HRA) Board met on Wednesday, September 9, 2026 at 2:00 PM in the City Hall Council Chambers. Commissioners present: Chair Johnson, Vice Chair Jost, Commissioners Noecker, Bowie, Coleman, and Yang (arrived late). Commissioner Kim was excused; Commissioner Vang absent. The meeting covered a public hearing on conduit bond amendments, a staff report on Downtown Vitality Fund economic development recommendations, and an introduction to the Hamm Building conduit bond issuance. Action was taken only on the first item. Public Hearing & Resolution (Item 1) - Resolution RES PH 26-254 – Approved amendments to and reissuance of conduit multifamily housing revenue bonds for three projects (801 Mt Curve Blvd, 2265 Hillcrest Ave, 2285 Hillcrest Ave), known as Emma Norton/Restoring Waters and Nellie Francis Court Projects (Ward 3, District 15). Chair Johnson opened the public hearing; no one from the public testified. Commissioner Jost moved to close the hearing and adopt the resolution. The motion carried 6-0 (Commissioners Noecker, Yang, Bowie, Johnson, Jost, Coleman in favor; Commissioner Kim absent). Downtown Vitality Fund Economic Development Recommendations (Item 2 – SR 26-190) - Presentation by Senior Project Manager Nick Wolff – Overview of the $2 million economic development portion of the Downtown Vitality Fund (total $5M including $3M for housing). 60 interest forms led to 35 eligible projects; 15 applications totaling over $4M in requests. Ten projects were approved administratively (under $500K), plus funding for the Alliance Bank Center Skyway. Two projects over $500K were presented for future HRA approval on September 23: - Endicott Arcade (134 Fifth St E) – $799,800 recommended to St. Paul Downtown Development Corporation for facade repairs and stabilization to restore a long-vacant commercial building. - 428 Minnesota Street (With Love Minnesota) – $682,200 recommended to renovate 11,000 sq ft of vacant ground-floor retail into a civic destination (cafe, event space). - Board Discussion – Commissioners expressed strong support, noting the program’s rapid deployment and focus on filling vacant spaces. Commissioner Noecker credited Downtown Development Corporation President Dave Higgins for suggesting the business funding component. Commissioner Yang asked about forgivable loan structure; Executive Director McMahon explained it is a four-year forgivable loan with annual forgiveness, avoiding long-term administrative burden. Commissioner Coleman highlighted the importance of investing in vacant stretches like Fifth Street to encourage downtown residential life. - Public/Invited Testimony – Several project representatives spoke: - With Love team (co-founders Damola Ogundipe, Emilia Ndely-Ogundipe, Director Thomas Toley) – Expressed excitement for activating the space, employing locals, and hosting events to draw residents and visitors. - Dave Higgins (St. Paul Downtown Development Corporation) – Thanked the Board for the program and noted the historic significance of the Arcade (designed by Cass Gilbert) and its potential for retail. - Joe Spencer (Downtown Alliance) – Called the Fifth Street corridor a key connection and praised the With Love project for filling a space vacant since Woolworths. - Jim Goldman (St. Paul Farmers Market) – Thanked the Board for a $20,000–$50,000 investment, noting their indoor market (former Black Dog space) had already spurred another 10,000 sq ft of leasing. - DJ (Eritrean restaurant owner, Erta Ale) – Expressed gratitude for support and described his restaurant as a destination for Ethiopian cuisine, jazz, and coffee ceremonies. - Bill Eddins (MetroNOME Brewery) – Thanked the Board for funding, explaining the brewery funds music education for kids and has struggled for 4.5 years. - Next Step – Formal approval of the two large projects will be brought to the HRA on September 23, 2026. Hamm Building Conduit Bond Issuance (Item 3 – SR 26-191) - Presentation by Principal Project Manager Laura Haynssen – Introduction of a conduit bond request (up to $14 million) for the conversion of the historic Hamm Building (408 St. Peter St.) into 128 housing units, all affordable at 60% area median income (AMI). The building (built 1919) has ground-floor tenants (Park Square Theatre, Meritage Room Cafe) and vacant upper floors. Developer PAK Properties purchased the property in 2022. Total development cost $49 million, funded by tax-exempt bonds, 4% low-income housing tax credits, and historic tax credits. The bond issuance will require a public hearing and formal resolution at the September 23 HRA meeting. - Board Discussion – Commissioner Noecker praised the project for bringing affordable housing downtown and noted unique features (potential pickleball courts). Chair Johnson asked developer Rich Pakonen what drew him to the site; Pakonen cited the building’s iconic status and his 30-year career redeveloping St. Paul properties. - Rich Pakonen (PAK Properties) – Expressed gratitude to city staff and confirmed the project is moving forward after several years of work. Key Outcomes - Vote Taken – Resolution RES PH 26-254 (conduit bond amendments for Emma Norton/Restoring Waters and Nellie Francis Court) passed 6-0. - No Action on Items 2 & 3 – Both will return for formal approval (including public hearing for Item 3) at the next HRA meeting on September 23, 2026. - Next Meeting Date – September 23, 2026 at 2:00 PM.

DOWNTOWN REVITALIZATION 82% · AFFORDABLE HOUSING 8% · ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 6% · PROCEDURAL 4%
35
SEP 9, 2026 · ST PAUL, MINNESOTA · BUDGET COMMITTEE
St. Paul City Council Policy Committee: TOD Asset Scan and Tobacco Minimum Price Discussion, September 9, 2026

On September 9, 2026, at 19:00 UTC, the St. Paul City Council Policy Committee met to discuss two topics: a transit-oriented development (TOD) city/HRA asset scan and a proposed tobacco minimum price increase. Roll call showed six members present and one absent. No formal votes were taken; the meeting consisted of presentations, councilmember questions, and direction that could lead to future legislation. No agenda or minutes were available, so this summary is based solely on the raw transcript. Discussion Item: Transit-Oriented Development City/HRA Asset Scan - Bruce Engelbreck, from the Office of Financial Services Real Estate section, introduced the project. The city received a grant in late 2025 that funded the consultant for the project, HRNA Advisors, represented by partner Aaron Lonoff. - Aaron Lonoff described the USDOT IFAC grant program, which aims to increase the use of publicly owned land in transit corridors, unlock asset value, reduce public redevelopment costs, and build local capacity. He also mentioned the CAPIA finance program through USDOT, noting that to date 99% of CAPIA work has been for infrastructure investment, but a coalition is working to support more private vertical development with low-cost financing. - The asset scan covers a little over 800 city- and HRA-controlled sites across St. Paul. A plurality of sites are under one-eighth of an acre. There are 107 sites larger than five acres, but 92 of those 107 are parkland. HRA-controlled sites tend to be smaller, often single-family parcels, and are shown as red on the map. Many city assets, such as parks, libraries, fire stations, and city hall, are not realistic redevelopment opportunities and will be scrubbed from the redevelopment list. - The process will narrow the 800 sites to approximately 10 priority sites, then to 3 sites for concept design and feasibility analysis. Because the grant is from USDOT, the final 3 sites must be transit-oriented development sites, though planned transit routes may count. The broader asset inventory can support a 10-year priority list beyond the transit-focused sites. - Three guiding principles emerged from kickoff discussions in late June: using public land to strengthen the city's fiscal position, supporting equitable growth, and positioning the city as a proactive development partner. - Lonoff outlined four kinds of value from development on city-owned land: direct land value from sale or ground lease; direct fiscal benefits such as property, sales, or business taxes; indirect benefits from new residents and workers spending in the city; and quality-of-life benefits from neighborhood transformation. - Council President Naker asked how transit fits into site selection. Lonoff responded that all city-owned land is analyzed, but the detailed priority site analysis must be transit-oriented due to the grant; non-transit sites can be considered separately over a longer timeline. - Councilmember Coleman asked about the timeline through March and suggested the three guiding principles could be layered rather than mutually exclusive. She identified strengthening the city's fiscal position as the top value, equity as a prioritization among comparable sites, and being a development partner as an umbrella concept. - Councilmember Kim asked about the “W1” and “W2” items on the timeline. Lonoff clarified these meant Workshop 1 and Workshop 2, not Ward 1 and Ward 2. Councilmember Kim also asked about the scope of assets; Lonoff confirmed all city-owned assets are included in the 800-site inventory. - Councilmember Johnson, representing Ward 7 on the East Side, raised concerns about transit inequity and the importance of planned transit routes. She urged the analysis to consider how long the city has owned sites, vacancy, whether structures are city-owned but unoperated, and the importance of geographic spread so all communities see investment. She cited the Hams Brewery redevelopment in Ward 7 as an example of HRA-owned land held for over 20 years. - Councilmember Coleman agreed with Councilmember Johnson and emphasized the value of understanding how investment in a parcel could catalyze whole neighborhoods, especially in areas that have gone years without significant investment. - The next update to the council was scheduled for May 27, with the year not specified in the transcript. Discussion Item: Tobacco Minimum Price Increase - Council Vice President Yang introduced the item and thanked the Association for Non-Smokers Minnesota (ANSER) for bringing the proposal forward. ANSER staff and youth advocates presented. - Jeannie Wygum from ANSER provided history: St. Paul was among the first cities to prohibit tobacco vending machines, set a minimum price on little cigars, and enact smoke-free workplaces in 1986. During the COVID era, St. Paul set a minimum price on cigarettes and chewing tobacco, but did not set one for vapes or nicotine pouches. - ANSER proposed raising the minimum price on cigarettes from $10 to $15, setting a $25 minimum price on vapes, and setting a $1 per pouch minimum price for nicotine pouches. This would make St. Paul the first city to set a minimum price on pouches. ANSER also proposed disallowing coupons and price promotions and supported indexing the minimum price to inflation. - Volunteers and youth advocates found that almost no retailers actually sell cigarettes at St. Paul's current $10 minimum, and the average price is much higher. Nicotine pouches averaged about 65 cents per pouch. - Youth leaders Shirley, a Ward 1 constituent, and Non, a Ward 5 constituent, represented ReTV, a youth tobacco advocacy group from Washington Technology Magnet School. They said the group collected over 109 postcards at summer community events and saw strong community support. They described nicotine pouches as a rapidly growing product among young people, marketed as harm reduction, and warned of health risks including effects on developing brains, gums, and addiction. They urged the $1 per pouch minimum price. - Chris Smith, a Lower Town resident, noted that Minneapolis set a $25 minimum price for vapes in 2025 and concluded that St. Paul's $10 cigarette minimum was ineffective. St. Anthony Village was the first city to set a minimum price for vapes. Approximately 70% of Minneapolis retailers followed the ordinance, and most stopped redeeming coupons and reduced in-store promotions. More than 20 community and faith organizations support the proposed St. Paul ordinance. - Councilmember Jost asked how coupons and promotions work under the Minneapolis ordinance. ANSER explained that buy-one-get-one-free offers and manufacturer coupons are not allowed. Councilmember Jost also asked about pegging the minimum price to inflation; ANSER supports this and has model language with a built-in inflator, which is already in Minneapolis' ordinance. She also asked about school education; ANSER said it works with schools and youth groups on outreach and alternative-to-suspension approaches. - Councilmember Coleman asked about unintended consequences. Wygum said no local businesses testified against the 2020/2021 minimum price ordinance, and that the increased margin goes to the retailer rather than to the city because state law prohibits local tobacco taxes. She acknowledged cross-border purchasing concerns but noted St. Paul has often been a leader and other communities follow. - Council Vice President Yang stated strong support for the proposal, said she was not concerned about having fewer tobacco or liquor stores, and cited public safety concerns related to crime and violence near such stores. She said she had asked city staff, including the Department of Safety and Inspections, to review ANSER's drafted ordinance language and expressed hope for approval as soon as possible. - Council President Naker noted apparent consensus around the table and indicated that legislation may be forthcoming from the vice president's office. Key Outcomes - No formal votes were taken during the policy committee meeting. - Councilmembers voiced broad support for advancing the tobacco minimum price ordinance, including increases for cigarettes, vapes, and nicotine pouches. - Vice President Yang's office, with the Department of Safety and Inspections, is expected to review the drafted ordinance language and move toward legislation. - The TOD/HRA asset scan will continue, with the next council update on May 27 (year not specified in the transcript).

TOBACCO REGULATION 33% · AFFORDABLE HOUSING 30% · PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION 11% · PUBLIC HEALTH 7%
36
SEP 9, 2026 · ST PAUL, MINNESOTA · BUDGET COMMITTEE
Budget Committee Receives 2027 Saint Paul Police Department Budget Presentation on September 9, 2026

The Saint Paul Budget Committee met on Wednesday, September 9, 2026, at 10:00 AM in Council Chambers at City Hall to receive the Saint Paul Police Department's 2027 budget presentation. Chief Henry and SPPD leadership presented the proposal; the committee received and filed the presentation (SR 26-194). The minutes list all seven members present; the transcript's roll call is garbled and references an absence not reflected in the minutes, and Councilmember Bowie participated later in the discussion. No public testimony was heard. Discussion Items - Chief Henry framed 2027 as managing and absorbing budget cuts while maintaining service levels. The mayor asked all departments for three budgets: one meeting target reductions, one accounting for existing but previously unbudgeted expenses, and a "dream budget" at 665 officers rather than the national-average figure of 725. SPPD met its $4.9 million general-fund target reduction, and the mayor added back some previously unbudgeted items. He noted that 93% of the department's budget is salaries, compared with a city average of about 82%. - Overtime was down 17.41% year-to-date through pay period 17 compared with the same point in 2025. The 2026 general-fund overtime budget was $2.4 million, and the department was pacing slightly over it. Staff-shortage callback was the largest overtime category at $680,000. Councilmembers asked to see holistic overtime totals, including amounts paid from savings created by unfilled sworn FTE positions; the chair requested 2024, 2025, and unaudited 2026 actuals. - Chief Henry described using 12-officer district minimums, shifting resources across districts, and attaching overtime callbacks to regular shifts to cut costs. He said reimbursed billings for special events and the bomb squad cover day-of labor but not full event planning and administration. The mayor provided $600,000 in the 2027 budget for special event revenue and expense. Councilmembers requested total event prep costs, net event costs, and itemized mobile field force/civil unrest data, including Metro surge and the No Kings protest. - Chief Henry explained that the city ended off-duty police contracts around 2019; event organizers now pay overtime rates. He supported the change, but said it made staffing events more expensive. - For 2027, the proposed budget includes cuts to command positions, $2 million in sworn attrition for 11 FTEs, and some civilian vacancies. Chief Henry said no officer would be laid off and simply out of work, but promoted sergeants could return to officer rank and one civilian position is expected to be eliminated. A department work group will examine lower minimums, online reporting, and other options; changes could begin around December. - The non-fatal shooting unit, funded by one-time public safety aid, will not be disbanded but may shrink. Chief Henry cited non-fatal shooting victims falling from 193 in 2022 to 71 or 72 last year, with 2026 pacing at about 81 or 82. Councilmembers asked for the unit's actual cost. - On group violence and ASPIRE, Chief Henry reported charging rates rising from 28% in 2022 to 66% currently and expected to exceed 70%; 2025 cases stood at 71% cleared versus 68.5% earlier, while Denver's top comparable rate was 64–65%. One participant was re-arrested as the perpetrator of a shooting. - Police academies historically had no direct general-fund line and were funded from special funds or one-time aid; the 2027 proposal moves academy funding into the general fund. The department hopes to run two academies, though the proposed line reflects 1.5 academies. Councilmembers questioned budgeting 1.5 academies, asked for cost breakdowns and cadet numbers, and discussed recouping training costs. The department reported feeder-program retention rising from 67% in 2021 to 88% currently. - Councilmember Jost observed that 2026 budgeted for 33 unfilled FTEs costing $4.7 million and compared that with 11 FTEs and $2 million in 2027 attrition, noting a roughly 30% higher per-FTE cost; she asked whether the average was accurate. - The administration proposed raising impound administrative fees from $80 to $120 and storage fees from $15 to $25. Some members supported updating fees to match inflation and asked for review of other fees; Councilmember Bowie raised concerns about residents' ability to retrieve impounded cars. - Chief Henry highlighted the real-time crime information center and drone program as efficient and life-saving, including assisting a child in danger and helping the fire department. He said the program is response-based, not surveillance. Councilmember Bowie requested data on technology costs, savings, and total philanthropic and grant funding, noting the Saint Paul Police Foundation is outside the general fund. - Chief Henry proposed that the state should share costs of capital-city-related events, saying Saint Paul residents pay twice for that burden. Councilmembers said follow-up data would help them support that case. Key Outcomes - The committee received and filed SR 26-194, the 2027 Saint Paul Police Department budget presentation. No formal vote on the budget was taken. - Councilmembers requested follow-up data, including: holistic overtime actuals inclusive of vacancy savings; itemized civil unrest/mobile field force and special event costs; the scale of remaining unbudgeted items; non-fatal shooting unit cost; academy cost, cadet, and retention data, plus recoupment options; total philanthropic and grant funding; equipment parts increase details; and the total cost impact of impound fee changes.

PUBLIC SAFETY 74% · BUDGET 24% · PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT 1% · TECHNOLOGY AND INNOVATION 1%
37
SEP 9, 2026 · ST PAUL, MINNESOTA · CITY COUNCIL
Saint Paul City Council Meeting - September 9, 2026

The Saint Paul City Council met on Wednesday, September 9, 2026, from 3:31 PM to 5:04 PM in the Council Chambers. Six members were present at roll call (Councilmember Johnson absent), with seven present for later votes. The meeting covered a consent agenda, separate discussion items, first readings of ordinances, public hearings, and legislative hearing consent items. Consent Calendar - Communications & Receive/File (Items 1–3): Budget amendments for Public Works sewer construction, a new Neighborhood STAR Year-Round project (United Church of God in Christ Inc.), and Financial Services grant management software funds were received and filed. - Consent Agenda (Items 4–32): Adopted as amended. Notable items included: - Railway track removal approval (RES 26-1356). - Multiple street reconstruction and alley improvement assessments (e.g., University Ave., Pleasant Ave., Pelham Blvd., Wheelock/Grotto). - Ordinance permits for Highland Bridge infrastructure (Ford site). - Police Department grant applications for recruitment, DWI enforcement, and Violence Against Women Act. - Claim settlement of $12,335.47 for Cathryn Teigen. - Liquor license ownership changes for Mexico 32 Cocina, Bird In Hand, La Cucaracha, and new license for Lulus Salsas. - Adverse action against Tobacco Shop license with a $1,000 matrix penalty. - City–Xcel Energy Memorandum of Understanding. - Partial waiver of Sustainable Building Ordinance for Baker Park restroom. - Appointments to Capital Improvement Budget Committee and Workforce Innovation Board. - Donation of surplus patrol car to Saint Paul Police Historical Society. - Acceptance of GovAI Coalition travel reimbursement. - Amendments to Conduit Multifamily Housing Revenue Bonds for Emma Norton/Restoring Waters and Nellie Francis Court projects. - Labor agreement (2026–2028) with Saint Paul Manual & Maintenance Supervisors Association. - Memorandum of Agreement with Plumbers Local 34 for Minnesota Paid Leave contributions. - Items 33, 34, and 35 were pulled for separate discussion. Public Comments & Testimony - Item 44 – Curb Cut Appeal (649 Snelling Ave N, Domino’s Pizza): Neighbor Bonita Stepa expressed opposition, arguing that the appeal seeks to benefit delivery drivers only and that traffic management should follow code as seen at nearby Taco Bell. Julie Hellwick noted that the variance was denied for condition E, not D, and questioned the pre-filed resolution draft. Appellant Eric Stoddard (Domino’s) advocated for retaining the curb cut to create a safe traffic pattern separating delivery vehicles from customers, with signage and design modifications to prevent traffic from entering the neighborhood. Discussion Items - Item 33 – Welcoming Week 2026 (RES 26-1483): Council recognized the city’s participation in Welcoming Week, reaffirming the contributions of immigrants and refugees. Speakers from the Saint Paul Immigrant Refugee Program and Welcoming America highlighted the week’s theme “The Stories We Share: The Courage to Connect.” The resolution was adopted unanimously (7–0). - Item 34 – Restoring Honorary Street Co-Naming (RES 26-1502): Councilmember Bowie moved to restore the practice, discontinued in 2017, and modernize it with a standard operating procedure. After debate, a version (version two) that included an exception for the next resolution (honoring Elder El-Kati) and a commitment to develop criteria was adopted 6–1 (Councilmember Jost opposed). The resolution itself then passed 6–1. - Item 35 – Co-Naming for Elder Mahmoud El-Kati (RES 26-1543): Council honored Professor Emeritus of History Mahmoud El-Kati by co-naming Milton Street and Iglehart Avenue. Speakers highlighted his decades of teaching, mentorship, and community impact. The community committed to bearing signage costs. Adopted 6–1 (Councilmember Jost opposed). - Item 36 – Drone Grant Application (RES 26-1399): Laid over from September 2; withdrawn by Council President Noecker because the council does not support expansion of the drone program until concerns are addressed. - Items 37–41 – First Readings of Ordinances: - Salt Storage Regulation (Ord 26-39): Staff explained the MS4 permit requirement to regulate bulk salt storage (≥1 ton) to protect surface waters. Laid over for second reading/public hearing on September 16. - Xcel Energy Franchise Agreements (Ord 26-40, 26-41, 26-43, 26-44): Climate Action Coordinator Liz Boyer presented highlights of new gas and electric franchise fees. Key changes include: simplified rates, decreased residential electric fee (median user saves $11/year), increased residential gas fee (median user pays $11 more – an overall wash), and a 50% rebate for low-income households enrolled in LIHEAP (9,821 participants). Commercial/industrial rates increase. A new Memorandum of Understanding with Xcel outlines joint energy efficiency and emission reduction efforts. All four ordinances laid over for second reading/public hearing on September 16. - Item 44 – Appeal of BZA Decision (Curb Cut Variance): After a public hearing, the council discussed the appeal. Councilmember Coleman moved to grant the appeal, citing staff recommendation that the curb cut improves safety by separating delivery and customer traffic. The appeal was granted (7–0). Key Outcomes - Welcoming Week resolution adopted unanimously (7–0). - Restoration of honorary street co-naming (version two) adopted 6–1; El-Kati co-naming adopted 6–1. - Drone grant application withdrawn. - Salt storage and Xcel franchise ordinances laid over to September 16 for second reading and public hearing. - Sound variance for Light the Night (Blood Cancer United) adopted (7–0). - $160,000 donation from Como Friends to Como Zoo and Conservatory adopted (7–0). - Curb cut appeal granted (7–0), reversing the Board of Zoning Appeals denial. - Legislative hearing consent agenda (items 45–50) adopted as amended (7–0). - Next meeting: September 16, 2026.

PROCEDURAL 24% · HISTORIC PRESERVATION 24% · PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT 16% · ENERGY EFFICIENCY 7%
38
SEP 4, 2026 · ST PAUL, MINNESOTA · PLANNING COMMISSION
Saint Paul Planning Commission Meeting - September 4, 2026

This meeting was scheduled for September 11, 2026, per the agenda, but the actual meeting date is September 4, 2026, as specified. No transcript or minutes are available; the summary is based solely on the agenda. The meeting included a public hearing for the Rondo Neighborhood Plan, an appeal of a site plan decision, and staff reports. Consent Calendar - Approval of the August 28, 2026, Planning Commission meeting minutes was listed on the agenda for routine approval. Public Hearings - Item 3: Rondo Neighborhood Plan Public Hearing – Staff: Tony Johnson. Public testimony could be submitted in writing or presented in person. No details on testimony or discussion are available. Discussion Items - Item 4: 2315 Highland Parkway & 706 Mississippi River Site Plan Appeal – An appeal of a zoning administrator decision to approve a site plan for the Mississippi River Residences, a new multifamily development. Staff: Tia Anderson. No details on discussion or arguments are available. Key Outcomes - No decisions, votes, or next steps are recorded because the meeting transcript is missing. The agenda indicates that these items were scheduled for public hearing and decision by the Planning Commission. Announcements - Planning Commission Chair and Planning Director made announcements (no details available). - The meeting was adjourned.

39
SEP 2, 2026 · ST PAUL, MINNESOTA · BUDGET COMMITTEE
Saint Paul Library Board Meeting: September 2, 2026 - Budget and Dayton's Bluff Discussion

This meeting of the Saint Paul Library Board focused on the proposed 2027 library budget, including the mayor's recommendation to close the Dayton's Bluff Library. Board members expressed strong opposition to the closure and debated data usage, funding alternatives, and the library fund balance. No formal decisions were made on the budget, but the board signaled its intent to find alternative funding. Consent Calendar - Approval of Minutes (Item 1, RES 26-26): The minutes of the August 5, 2026 Library Board meeting were approved unanimously (7-0). - Accepting a Gift (Item 2, RES PH 26-243): A resolution accepting a $309,000 gift from The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library for Play Learn Spaces, and amending the 2026 financing and spending plans, was adopted unanimously (7-0) after no public testimony. Public Comments & Testimony - No members of the public spoke on any agenda item. Discussion Items - 2027 Library Budget Proposal (Staff Report 26-176): Director Maureen Hartman presented the mayor's proposed budget, which includes the closure of the Dayton's Bluff Library as a cost-saving measure. The closure would save $148,274 from the lease with Metropolitan State University, plus savings from technology, materials, and 1.3 FTE through attrition. No library staff would lose their jobs; 4.1 FTE would be repurposed to fund four library safety specialists. The budget also proposes fee increases for printing (15 to 20 cents per page) and notary services ($1 to $2 per transaction). - Data and Usage Debate: Councilmember Cheniqua Johnson challenged the usage data presented, arguing that the Dayton's Bluff Library's smaller size (6,600 sq ft, 14 computers, 51 hours/week) and holiday closures under Metro State make comparisons unfair. She noted that usage in 2026 is up 7% year-over-year and that the library's 15 visits per hour is legitimate given the neighborhood's low income (under $50,000 for a family of four). Other board members, including Council Vice President Nelsie Yang and Councilmember Molly Coleman, agreed that the value of the library goes beyond usage metrics and that closing it is not supported. - Library Safety Specialists: The proposed budget intertwines the closure savings with permanent funding for four of seven library safety specialists (currently using one-time funds). Councilmember Johnson questioned why the library system, which does not budget per branch, would solve for safety specialist funding through a specific branch closure. Director Hartman clarified that without the closure, there is no identified permanent funding for those positions. - Library Fund Balance: A slide showed a $913,000 budget variance for 2025, which Councilmember Johnson argued could be used to keep Dayton's Bluff open and fund safety specialists. OFS Director Ms. Mitchell later corrected that the net contribution to fund balance in 2025 was only $68,000 after accounting for revenue and adjustments. Council President Rebecca Noecker criticized the presentation as misleading. Chair Saura Jost noted the library fund balance is approximately $9 million but subject to a city policy requiring a 15% fund balance to maintain the AAA bond rating. - Lease and Metro State: Council Vice President Yang noted that the council signed a three-year lease with Metro State under suspension last month, implying the proposed closure would be a lease breach. Council President Noecker asked about conversations with Metro State regarding the lease terms; no specific discussions were reported. - Library Collections: Council Vice President Yang noted the absence of a plan for library materials funding, reiterating her opposition to using Cultural STAR one-time money for collections. Director Hartman directed to appendix page 33 showing historical council investments and the required amount to maintain purchasing power. Key Outcomes - No vote on the budget: The board did not take any action on the 2027 budget proposal. Chair Jost stated there is no appetite to close Dayton's Bluff Library and committed to exploring alternatives. - Next steps: A public hearing on Dayton's Bluff will be held September 24, 2026, at 6:00 p.m. at Metro State (Eco Lab Room 302). The maximum levy vote is scheduled for September 23, 2026, with final budget adoption in December. - Ongoing issues: The board will continue discussions on funding for library safety specialists, use of fund balance, and materials budget. Chair Jost suggested considering raising the library's own levy or other creative solutions, including reallocating from the police budget.

LIBRARIES 65% · BUDGET 35%
40
SEP 2, 2026 · ST PAUL, MINNESOTA · BUDGET COMMITTEE
Budget Committee Meeting: 2027 Parks and Recreation Budget Presentation - September 2, 2026

The Budget Committee of the Saint Paul City Council met on September 2, 2026, to discuss the proposed 2027 budget for the Parks and Recreation Department. Director Andy Rodriguez presented the proposal, which included service reductions, new investments, and funding shifts to address a tight budget climate. Council members expressed strong concerns about the disproportionate impact of cuts on the East Side and the modest savings achieved relative to the loss of community services. Discussion Items - 2027 Parks and Recreation Budget Overview: Director Rodriguez outlined the department's proposed general fund changes, noting that nearly 90% of the budget is tied to staffing and building costs. The proposal includes reductions in service hours and facility operations to avoid layoffs or additional full closures. - Reduction: Non-Hub Rec Center Holiday Closures: Proposed closing non-hub recreation centers (typically open 2-9 PM) on additional holidays (MLK Day, Presidents' Day, Juneteenth, Christmas Eve) while hub sites remain open. This responds to lower usage and higher staffing costs on holidays. Council Vice President Yang requested a list of centers that would remain open. - Reduction: AM Hours at All Hub Sites: All hub sites (e.g., Arlington Hills, Battle Creek, Highland Park) would open at 10 AM instead of 9 AM, affecting morning users of fitness rooms and walking tracks. Oxford would be exempt due to aquatic programming. - Reduction: Eliminate AM Hours at Edgecombe Rec Center: The facility would open at 2 PM (school year) or 12:30 PM (summer). The preschool program would not be impacted. Pickleball programming, popular with seniors, would be affected; the department is exploring a cost-recovery model. - Reduction: Modified Operations at Highwood Hills Rec Center: Indoor operations would be reduced, saving $75,000 annually by eliminating the lease with the school district. The city would retain $25,000 for ad hoc indoor rentals. The outdoor park amenities (recently improved with $1M in investments) would remain open. Councilmember Johnson strongly opposed this, noting it is the only indoor public meeting space in the neighborhood, serving a large immigrant population, and that the savings are minimal. She called the decision inequitable and short-sighted. - Closure: Duluth & Case Rec Center: Proposed closure due to poor building condition (nearly 70 years old, code violations, failing roof, safety concerns) rather than budget savings. The closure would be budget-neutral; staff would be reassigned. A new East Side Community Center is in design (over 50% complete), but funding for construction is not yet secured. Councilmembers called for a solid timeline and commitment from the mayor. Council President Noecker suggested using Common Sense Sales Tax dollars for demolition to avoid holding costs. Council Vice President Yang emphasized the need for a clear plan to avoid a multi-year service gap. - Additions: Safety Technology: Investment in camera systems, remote locking, and lockdown technology at recreation centers, partly in response to rising safety incidents. - Additions: Utility Increase: Additional funding to bring park building utilities near break-even for the first time in over a decade. - Additions: Right Track Restoration to General Fund: Moving existing staff positions ($500,000) from one-time ARPA funding to the general fund to sustain the youth employment program. The program placed 760 youth in internships but had to turn away 2,300 applicants. Councilmember Kim praised this as a win for youth programming. - Sprockets: Continued coordination of out-of-school-time programming with general fund support. - Unbudgeted Pressures: Director Rodriguez highlighted unbudgeted costs from public safety incidents, storms, graffiti removal, and portable toilets ($200,000) that strain the department. - Revenue Initiatives: Fee changes including pay-what-you-can options and non-resident fees for some programs. Golf fund performance has improved. Key Outcomes - No formal votes were taken; the presentation was for discussion and will inform the council's budget deliberations. - Council President Noecker proposed exploring philanthropic or corporate support to cover the $188,000 in total cuts (from reduced hours and closures) and urged a cost-benefit analysis of Como Zoo's regional park status to assess potential non-resident fee revenue. - Councilmember Johnson and others signaled they would work to restore funding for Highwood Hills Rec Center and secure a clear timeline for the Duluth & Case replacement. - The chair directed the department to provide additional data on per-facility spending, code correction notices, and a list of holiday closure-exempt rec centers. - Councilmembers committed to ongoing community engagement and legislative advocacy for state and federal funding for capital projects. Note No public testimony was heard; the meeting consisted of council members' questions and comments following the director's presentation.

PARKS AND RECREATION 50% · BUDGET 27% · YOUTH PROGRAMS 7% · COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT 6%
OPENPUBLICA · PUBLIC MEETING INDEXUPDATED DAILY · openpublica.com